Students from 'Practices of Citizenship' Spring 2012

Brett Armour:

I am a junior Communication major. I also play baseball for Wake Forest University. I am from Cornelia, Georgia and I enjoy working out as well as listening to music when I have free time.

Brigita Bercyte:

I am originally from Vilnius, Lithuania, but now reside in Brooklyn, New York with my parents. I am currently a sophomore at Wake Forest University. Wake Forest University recruited me for tennis. I have also achieved excellence in academics by making the Dean’s list. I have also volunteered at numerous events such as: Hit the Bricks, Project Pumpkin, and Santa’s Helpers.  I try to open myself up to the given opportunities on the Wake Forest campus so I can use that experience to grow as an individual.  I plan on graduating from Wake Forest University in May 2014 with a Bachelor of Business in Economics and a minor in Communication.

Tommy Bohanon:

I am a senior Communication major at Wake Forest University. I am a member of the football team, which really makes you learn how to use time management and teaches you how to focus on the task at hand and really doing everything you can to accomplish your goals.

Emily Colby:

I am currently a sophomore at Wake Forest University, majoring in Communication and Art History.  I am from LaGrange Park, Illinois, a suburb just west of Chicago. In my free time, I love to swim, travel, and hang out with my friends.

Bronwen Gainsford:

I’m from Winston-Salem, North Carolina. I’m majoring in Communication. My hobbies include sports (I play on the Varsity Field Hockey Team) and working on the Old Gold & Black (I was the web editor). I also work as a life guard and teach swim lessons at a local YMCA.

Adam Grob:

I am currently a sophomore at Wake Forest University majoring in Communication with a double minor in Entrepreneurship and Social Enterprise, and Global Trade & Commerce Studies. I was born and raised in Miami, FL. With my free time, I enjoy going to the gym, playing sports, and being out on the water. I am Jewish and half Hispanic.

Rachel Handel:

I was born in Fort Worth, Texas and I moved to Bethesda, Maryland in 2002.  I chose Wake Forest University when I was a sophomore in high school.  I’m now a senior Philosophy major, and double minor in Women and Gender Studies as well as Middle East and South Asian Studies. I chose my classes based on what interests me and what curriculum is enjoyable, and I’m grateful that Wake Forest has interdisciplinary minors so that I could explore classes in so many different departments. In my spare time, I enjoy running, painting, and nature- especially the changing seasons.

Alexandra Huttner:

I am from Rumson, New Jersey, which is a small suburb about a mile away from the beach in Central New Jersey. Though many do not like to believe me, it is absolutely nothing like what one would see on the “Jersey Shore” television series. By boat, I live around 45 minutes from New York City and I consider the city a huge part of my childhood and life right now. I love going there to shop, eat, and visit friends. I also spent last summer and will spend this summer interning there. Last summer I interned for a financial news website, which I was attracted to due to my Communication major and Economics minor.

Sam Merrill:

I was born in Charlotte, North Carolina and have lived there my entire life before coming to Wake Forest University. I am an Economics and Communication major and I hope to attend Law School after graduating next year.  In my leisure time I enjoy playing sports, spending time with friends, and being out-doors.

Tom Morrison:

I am a senior Communication and Anthropology major.  I was born in Oshawa, Canada and soon after moved to Port Perry where I lived until I came down to Wake Forest for Track and Field. I now spend most of my time training with the team but in my spare time I like to play any sport that is out there and spend some down time with my friends.

Tiffany Newsome:

I am from Kelford, North Carolina. I have been in NC all of my life. I am currently a junior English major and Education/American Ethnic Studies double minor. I am a member of several groups at Wake Forest:  the Gospel Choir and Intimate Praise. In my leisure time, I love traveling, spending time with friends, and playing games. Upon graduation next year, I am planning to relocate to the Research Triangle Area to teach high school English while pursuing a degree in education in graduate school. My passion is studying different ethnicities and finding a way to bridge those ethnicities together. Though we all come from different backgrounds, there are some things that unite us all!

Rachel Nuzzolese:

I am originally from Long Island, New York. I moved to Wallace, North Carolina last year as a freshman. I am a Communication major and a Theatre/Business Entrepreneurship double minor. I am a left forward on the Wake Forest’s women soccer team, and I love it. I love to go to Disney World any instance I get. It’s such a magical place, where dreams come true! I would love to work at the Walt Disney Corporation in the media relations field, since I love intermingling with diverse individuals.

J.D. Oglesby:

I am a junior Communication major and Dance minor. I am a football player, but I also enjoy other sports actually most sports other than baseball.  I like to play chess as well as solving puzzles (Sudoku etc.). I am always eager to learn.

Kerrigan O’Malley:

I am a sophomore at Wake Forest University. I am originally from Alexandria, Virginia, which is about 10 miles outside of Washington, D.C. I plan to double major in Communication and Art History and hopefully go into the public relations field once I graduate. I am a member of Alpha Delta Pi sorority, PREPARE, HerCampus, Students for Educational Reform Executive Board and I am a tour guide for prospective students. Outside of school, I am an avid tennis player and World Champion Irish step dancer.

Mat Payne:

I’m a senior, majoring in Communication with a concentration in Media Studies and minoring in Journalism. I’ve lived in the greater Asheville area for the last fifteen years where I developed a love for all things Appalachian, both aesthetically and culturally. As someone who identifies as being from a specific region rather than as a member of a state, my personal view of citizenship may be a bit atypical, leaning towards more empowered and autonomous traits.

Colin Summers:

I am from Raleigh, NC and I am currently a sophomore Communication major and Entrepreneurship and Social Enterprise minor at Wake Forest University.  I also play football here and in my spare time I enjoy listening to music and spending time with friends and family.

Emily Thomas:

I am a senior Psychology major and American Ethnic Studies minor at Wake Forest University. I am from a Wichita Falls, a small town in Texas. In my spare time, I enjoy working with at-risk youth. I also teach SAT classes for The Princeton Review.

Zach Thompson:

I am currently a junior at Wake Forest University. I am majoring in Communication, and a member of the football team at Wake Forest University. I am from Ashburn, Virginia, just outside of Washington D.C. My hobbies include playing sports, working out, listening to music, and hanging out with friends.

Lindsy Wright:

I am a sophomore at Wake Forest, and I am majoring in Communication. I am from Denver, North Carolina, which is a small town right outside of Charlotte. Living by the lake, I enjoy any water sport.

Taylor Zacks:

I have always lived in the same house in midtown Atlanta, GA my entire life. My first name is Kenneth but I go by my middle name Taylor. I am a Communication major and ESE minor. I also was a part of the summer management program last year. I am interested in PR for a career path but that is likely to change. Last semester I studied abroad in London, England and was an intern for a PR agency. With my spare time I love to hunt, fish, and golf.

Copyright © 2011. Wake Forest University Symposium on Citizenship. Design by Mallary Creative.